image preview



Creation Date



Frankfurt: April 23, 1951: The US women's panel is shown with HICOG officials, who briefed them on US policies and programs, and the German political and economic situation prior to their visits and conferences with German women's organizations. Show left to right from row, are: Mrs. Philip H. Jones, Associated Country Women of the World; Mrs. Arthur F. Anderson, National YMCA; Dr. Minnie Lee Maffett, National Business and Professional Women's Clubs; Glenn G. Wolfe, Director of Office of Administration, HICOG; Benjamin J. Buttenwieser, Assistant US High Commissioner, HICOG; Alfred V. Boerner, Chief of Policy and Planning, Office of Public Affairs, HICOG; Mrs. Frederick Gilstrap, American Association of University Women; Dr. Dorothy B. Ferebee, National Council of Negro Women; Mrs. Walter Rose, American Federation of Labor; Mrs. Harold D. Dyke, League of Women Voters and Mildred E. Allen, Office of Public Affairs, HICOG. Back row, left to right are: Jean Cattier, Chief of ECA Mission to Germany; Mrs. Marie C. Mengerson, CIO; Shepard Stone, Director of Office of Public Affairs, HICOG; Samuel Reber, Director, Office of Public Affairs, HICOG; Miss Luella Reckmeyer, United Council of Church Women; and Mrs. Anthony J. Scholter, National Council of Catholic Women.


When requesting images please refer to the "Identifier" in your request. For reproductions and permissions please visit out Prints and Photographs Department at for details. In all cases, it is the researcher's obligation to determine and satisfy copyright or other use restrictions when publishing or otherwise distributing materials found in the Moorland-Spingarn Research Center's collections.