The School of Business was founded in 1970 with Dr. Milton Wilson as Dean and over time became the second largest School within the University, establishing its reputation for excellence in both the academic and business communities. In 1976, the undergraduate program became the first in Washington, D.C. to be awarded accreditation from the American Assembly of Collegiate Schools of Business (AACSB). When the MBA program gained AACSB accreditation in 1980, it likewise became the first in Washington, D.C. to receive AACSB accreditation. At that time, Howard University became one of only 153 schools in the nation with an accredited Master of Business Administration (MBA) program out of the more than 500 institutions granting the MBA degree. Separate AACSB accreditation for the Accounting Program was obtained in 1989. At that time, Howard was one of only 69 universities nationwide with this designation.

This site is a product of the Moorland-Spingarn Research Center and Howard University Libraries. For the official Howard University School of Business website please visit: The Howard University School of Business


Browse the School of Business Collections:

School of Business Faculty Publications